23rd April – World Book Night

23rd April – World Book Night

Every year I sign up to be a World Book Night giver, and this year is no different. I have collected my copies of  Charity Norman’s After The Fall and am ready to give them away.

image

WBN was set up to celebrate and foster a love of reading and is now run by The Reading Agency. It is a charitable initiative supported by the publishing industry (which supplies hundreds of books for volunteers to hand out).

I have been involved since the start, when publisher Jamie Byng launched it on a freezing cold night five years ago in Trafalgar Square. Since then I have handed out dozens of books, from poetry in Soho Square, to fantasy on the Underground, free books are popping up everywhere this week.

If you see someone handing out books, take one, read it, pass it on.

To celebrate the event I am offering copies via Instagram to anyone who tells me what reading means to them.

The book is about what happens to a family after a serious accident, secrets and what happens when you keep them. Set in New Zealand it chronicles the lives of the McNamara family after five-year-old Finn falls from the upstairs veranda.

I really enjoyed it when I first read it, it’s quite compelling.

So, what’s your favourite read?

ramblingmads

Leave a Reply

