“Terry took Death’s arm…”

“Terry took Death’s arm…”

Sir Terry Pratchett died today it has just been announced. He was one of my favourite authors and I have pretty much all of his books.

I met him once, he won the Carnegie Award for The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents and I was at the Polka Dot Theatre in Wimbledon for the ceremony as part of a school delegation. I was 14.

Somewhere I have the photos I took on a disposable camera, he was kind and funny, charming to those who queued to get their books signed, as I did.

His books meant a lot to me. Growing up I was pretty socially awkward and preferred books to people. The Discworld was the perfect place to escape to.

He was an immensely talented writer, knighted for his services to literature, and a campaigner for Alzheimer’s, having been diagnosed with it a few years ago.

I grew up with his books and with his knowledge, that libraries exist in L-space and bookshops are just genteel black holes that know how to read.

It’s a shame there will be no more stories, and I will be thinking of his friends and family at this time.

Thank you for the stories Sir Terry.
image

ramblingmads

Leave a Reply

